The COVID-19 pandemic is making this a challenging time for all of us. Although it can be easy to neglect our health and wellbeing, maintaining a healthy lifestyle is vital in helping us to deal with the difficulties COVID-19 brings.

Here are some links to organisations and resources that can help you stay healthy during this time.

Keeping active
Now that we’re spending more time at home, it’s easy to forget our daily activity routine. But being active is vital for both our physical health (including our immune system) and our emotional wellbeing.  These websites contain tips and tools for staying active:

Get Active: www.getactive.vic.gov.au/
Exercise Right: https://exerciseright.com.au/exercise-home/
Find your 30: https://www.sportaus.gov.au/findyour30/challenge
This Girl Can: https://thisgirlcan.com.au/active-at-home/

Maintaining a healthy diet
Eating a healthy, balanced diet is crucial to the maintenance of good health and a strong immune system. This means eating a wide variety of foods, and consuming the right amount of food and drink to maintain a healthy body weight. These websites contain tips and tools for eating well:

Cook Well Eat Well: www.cookwelleatwell.org.au      
No Money No Time: https://nomoneynotime.com.au
Live Lighter: https://livelighter.com.au
Dietitians Australia: https://dietitiansaustralia.org.au/smart-eating-for-you/smart-eating-fast-facts/nutrition-tips-and-advice-during-covid-19/

Looking after your mental health
The COVID-19 pandemic has made many people feel anxious, worried and lonely. Being aware of how you’re feeling and knowing how to look after your mental wellbeing is an important part of staying healthy. These websites and services have resources to help you manage your mental health.

Beyond Blue Coronavirus Mental Wellbeing Service (available 24/7):  coronavirus.beyondblue.org.au
Beyond Blue phone line (staffed by mental health professionals): 1800 512 348.
Black Dog Institute: https://www.blackdoginstitute.org.au/resources-support/coronavirus-resources-for-anxiety-stress/
Lifeline: https://www.lifeline.org.au
Smiling Mind: https://www.smilingmind.com.au/thrive-inside

For families

The pandemic has been challenging for families with disrupted schooling to being forced to stay at home. Here are some resources to help talk to your children about the pandemic and to keep them occupied.

Raising Children: https://raisingchildren.net.au/guides/coronavirus-covid-19-guide
Sandra Demaio Foundation - Healthy and Home: https://healthyandhome.org/categories/health-wellness 

Keeping to safe alcohol limits and stopping smoking

In times like these, it can be easy to fall into unhealthy patterns of behaviour. While it’s completely natural to feel more stressed and anxious, trying to deal with these emotions with unhealthy coping strategies such as smoking and drinking to excess is counter-productive.  Here are links to information about avoiding unhealthy behaviours:

Alcohol

Little Habit: https://www.littlehabit.com.au
Fare: http://fare.org.au/covid19/

Smoking

Quit: https://www.quit.org.au/articles/faqs-coronavirus-covid-19-and-smoking/


 

The Life! program

The Life! program can help you get your health on track during the COVID-19 pandemic. Sessions are run online and by telephone by health professionals and you will learn more about nutrition, physical activities, sleep, managing stress and setting goals.

To find out if you’re eligible for the Life! program, take the type 2 diabetes risk test. You can also call 13 74 75 (13 RISK) to speak to our friendly team for more information.

 

COVID-19 social media tile - FB V1